Trey Burke Turning Pro

After a season in which he averaged 18.6 points a contest and dished out a single-season, school record 260 assists, Michigan point guard Trey Burke has decided to enter the NBA Draft.

“I feel that is the right decision for me and my future. It has been a dream of mine to play in the NBA, and I feel excited and well prepared to take that next step in my career,” said the Columbus native in a school-issued press release.

Burke led the Wolverines to the NCAA Championship game before they fell to Louisville 82-76. He also won Big Ten Player of the Year Honors as well as the Naismith and Wooden national player of the year awards.

“My time at Michigan has helped me grow tremendously as both a basketball player and as a person,” Burke said. “I will always be grateful for the opportunity Coach Beilein and his staff gave me to wear the Maize and Blue. I have learned so much from this staff and this university about what is really important if you want to be successful in your future. I love the University of Michigan and the Ann Arbor community, and it will always be a place I call home.”

ESPN’s Chad Ford has Burke going 6th to the New Orleans Hornets in his latest projections.

This entry was posted in Basketball, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

