Rules 69.1 and 69.3

Blue Jackets fans are asking about the rule that led to a Derick Brassard second-period goal to be disallowed.

First, it appears to be a horrible call, but here’s what the official must have believed happened:

Rule 69.1 “This rule is based on the premise that an attacking player’s position, whether inside or outside the crease, should not, by itself, determine whether a goal should be allowed or disallowed. In other words, goals scored while attacking players are standing in the crease may, in appropriate circumstances be allowed. Goals should be disallowed only if: (1) an attacking player, either by his positioning or by contact, impairs the goalkeeper’s ability to move freely within his crease or defend his goal; or (2) an attacking player initiates intentional or deliberate contact with a goalkeeper, inside or outside his goal crease. Incidental contact with a goalkeeper is permitted, and resulting goals allowed, when such contact is initiated outside the goal crease, provided the attacking player has made a reasonable effort to avoid such contact…”

Rule 69.3 “If an attacking player initiates contact with a goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

“If a goalkeeper, in the act of establishing his position within his goal crease, initiates contact with an attacking player who is in the goal crease, and this results in an impairment of the goalkeeper’s ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

“If after any contact by a goalkeeper who is attempting to establish position in his goal crease, the attacking player does not immediately vacate his current position in the goal crease (i.e. give ground to the goalkeeper), and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed. In all such cases, whether or not a goal is scored, the attacking player will receive a minor penalty for goalkeeper interference.

“If an attacking player establishes a significant position within the goal crease, so as to obstruct the goalkeeper’s vision and impair his ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.

“For this purpose, a player ‘establishes a significant position within the crease’ when, in the Referee’s judgment, his body, or a substantial portion thereof, is within the goal crease for more than an instantaneous period of time.”


7 thoughts on “Rules 69.1 and 69.3”

  1. Nice rules, just that none of those things actually happened. O’Roarke screwed the call and screwed the Jackets. Period.

      1. You’re exactly right, Lori, the call was made from less than ten yards awayand his team wasn’t going to just overrule him. Does seem that they might, at least, discussed it, a bit. I sit just a short distance over the goalie’s right shoulder in that end and it was clear that Foligno did not interfere. The ref was behind Foligno and may not have had a clear view, which is why he never should have made a call that he plainly could not have seen. Very frustrating, but the team seems less upset than the fans, just as they must be! We can wallow, they can’t!

        By the way, did you make that save or did the chubby Miami girl beat you? Successful dive, or just for show? Great form, anyway!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s