Can’t Hyde

Here’s a shot from the play where Carlos Hyde was called for a high hit against the Michigan State punt returner. I’ll let you decide if it should have been flagged, or not.

Here’s the rule you’re being asked to apply-

Rule 9, Section 1, Article 4: “No player shall target and initiate contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm, elbow or shoulder. When in question, it is a foul…”

If you’re wondering about the definition of a defenseless player, it’s “one who because his physical and focus of concentration is especially vulnerable to injury.” One of the examples the rulebook actually mentions is a kick returner.

There’s video of the play here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s